What’s in the cupboard curry!

We’ve all been there. It’s been a long Monday, the kitchen is still the scene of the weekend’s  avoidance of chores and there’s nothing in the fridge… or so I thought. I’m pretty lost without at least the outline of a recipe and I’ve never been great at just conjuring a meal from random ingredients – I’d be rubbish on “Ready, Steady, Cook”.

That’s the beauty of curry, you can pretty much chuck anything in a pot with a blend of spices, onion and chopped toms and it’s normally edible. So armed with some fresh beetroot and a head of cauliflower I do a quick Google check, just to make sure I’m not about to embark on a culinary disaster.

Beetroot and potato curry with cauliflower rice

The base of the curry is one I use regardless of  the main ingredients I’m using, although not having made a curry with beetroot before I wasn’t sure how this one would work out.  You can add more or less chillies/curry powder depending on how hot you like it. I also love adding a healthy glug of red wine vinegar to curries, to give that mix of hot and sour. It’s worth investing in a an array of random spices, and I’ll often be found rummaging in the back of the spice cupboard for that tarragon or something I bought a year ago.

  
Ingredients for the Curry:

  • Bunch of fresh beetroot
  • Couple of potatoes
  • A red onion
  • Two or three garlic cloves
  • Can of chopped tomatoes
  • Mustard seeds
  • One or two fresh chillies, diced
  • Paprika
  • Garam Masala
  • Cumin
  • Turmeric
  • Curry powder
  • Ginger
  • Fresh coriander

Boiled rice is a bit meh and besides, cauliflower rice is just a bit different (plus I had one in the fridge!) so ingredients for the rice:

  • A head of cauliflower
  • One carrot
  • One leek
  • Lime juice
  • Small handful of  dill

Splash some oil in a big pot on a medium heat, adding the onion (which I prefer to cut into long ‘strands’). Chop the garlic small, add this to the pot after a couple minutes, along with the mustard seeds, frying for a couple minutes. Once the onion is soft, add the other spices and fry for a minute before also adding the chopped toms. Peel the beetroot (a pretty messy job) and chop into big chunks. Do the same with the spuds and add all of them to the pot. Add a glass of water, if needed to cover all the  ingredients, stir everything up, pop the lid on and let it simmer away.

Now onto the ‘rice’. Blitz the ingredients in a food processor, which you may need to do in stages, and don’t do what I did and block the processor by trying to put an entire carrot in at once. When everything is blitzed down, add the juice of a lime and put aside until the curry is cooked.  When ready, melt a nob of butter in a pan, dropping in the rice and frying for minute, adding the dill at the last moment.

  

2 thoughts on “What’s in the cupboard curry!

  1. Hi, Fab blog! I have just set up mine, but still in the very early stages! Just making efforts to link in with fellow bloggers to improve our followers and get the word out there for us both. Beetroot is a fab product! There is a picky on my first blog of a beetroot dish and just shows what can be done! I would appreciate you having a peek at my blog, as I have just published my first post. Feel free to like, comment, follow or just take a peek. Thank you 🙂

  2. Hey thanks for the comment and congrats on your first post. I’ve neglected mine for a while but planning to get back into it ahead of going travelling later this year, where I’ll be blogging about the food along the way – keep posted

Leave a Reply

